Rashmi Ranjan

As the rain triggered by the deep depression over Bay of Bengal continues to batter several parts of Odisha, the School and Mass Education department on Monday announced to close schools in all the 12 districts, where a red warning of heavy rainfall has been issued.

Get Live Updates on Odisha Rain

All the schools in Puri, Khordha, Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Dhenkanal, Nayagarh, Sambalpur, Deogarh, Angul, Sonepur and Bargarh will remain closed for two days- September 13 and 14.

The announcement came after a meeting between the Special Relief Commissioner and the School and Mass Education Department secretary.

Earlier in the day, the depression over northwest Bay of Bengal and adjoining Odisha coast intensified into a deep depression. Under its influence, several parts of Odisha, including Cuttack and Bhubaneswar have been receiving heavy rainfall leading to water-logging in low-lying areas.

Puri has received the maximum 341 mm rainfall followed by Paradip (210 mm), Bhubaneswar (195 mm), Gopalpur (64 mm), Chandabali (46 mm) and Balasore (24 mm) so far, informed the Met Centre.

Moreover, the weather office has also issued Red Warning for eight districts - Puri, Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Nayagarh and Kendrapara. These districts are likely to witness intense spells of rainfall.

Similarly, orange warning has been issued for Khordha, Boudh, Kalahandi, Rayagada, Kandhamal, Angul, Jajpur districts for the next 3 hours.