Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

World No.1 and Paralympics gold medal winner para-shuttler Pramod Bhagat from Odisha is ecstatic after being nominated for the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2021 along with 11 other sportspersons.

“I hope not only the para-sportspersons, but also the normal sportspersons in Odisha should be inspired by my success. They must work hard to bring laurels for the State and the country,” said Bhagat.
The ace para-shuttler also promised not to sit on his laurels.

“I have many dreams to be fulfilled. I am not complacent and not ready to rest on my laurels. I feel my career has just started and I have a long way to go,” said Pramod.

Notably, Neeraj Chopra who bagged the historic gold at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 along with medal winners at the event - Ravi Dahiya, PR Sreejesh and Lovlina Borgohai has been nominated for the highest sporting honour of the country this year.

The national sports awards committee has also recommended the name of veteran India women's cricketer Mithali Raj, along with legendary footballer Sunil Chhetri - the first in the history of Indian football - for the top award.

Indian Paralympian Avani Lekhara, who scripted history to become the first Indian woman to win two medals at the Paralympics has also been nominated for Khel Ratna. 

This apart, a total of 35 Indian athletes have also been recommended for the Arjuna Award by the national sports awards committee.

(Edited by Rashmi Ranjan Mohanty)

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now