Suryakant Jena

The Odisha government on Friday issued the final list of reservations for the post of Zilla Parishad presidents across the State ahead of the forthcoming Panchayat elections. 

As per a notification issued by the State Panchayati Raj department, four ZP president posts in the districts of Angul, Khordha, Nayagarh and Sonepur have been reserved for OBC candidates. 

At the same time, candidates from the Scheduled Caste (SC) category will be allowed to head the top most tier of the Panchayat Raj system in 4 districts, namely Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Bhadrak and Jajpur.

The ZP president posts will remain reserved for unreserved category candidates in the districts of Kendrapara, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, Puri, Bolangir and Sambalpur.
On the other hand, the president posts of district councils in Sundargarh, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Nabarangpur, Gajapati, Koraput, Keonjhar and Kandhamal will remain reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates.

The government has also reserved several Zilla Parishad president seats for women candidates. The notice released by the Panchayati Raj department today stated that as many as 15 district councils, the number which is half of all the Zilla Parishads, will remain reserved for women.

The final list of seat reservations has been prepared after disposal of claims and objections by the government following publication of a draft list on October 16.

Other Stories