Vikash Sharma

The stage is all set for the last leg of voting in the fourth phase of the crucial 2024 elections in Odisha. The voters are all set to exercise their franchise on June 1 and seal the fate of several candidates including heavyweight leaders of various political parties.

The voting will be conducted for six Lok Sabha and 42 assembly seats on June 1 (tomorrow). 

The fate of 460 candidates including 66 Lok Sabha candidates and 394 candidates contesting for the 42 assembly seats will be sealed in EVMs on June 1.

Stakes are high for the six Lok Sabha seats- Kendrapara, Jajpur, Balasore, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj and Jagatsinghpur.

There will be a direct fight between BJP heavyweight and party’s National Vice-President Baijayant Panda and BJD’s Anshuman Mohanty.

A triangular fight is also on the cards for the Balasore Parliamentary seat between BJP’s Pratap Sarangi, BJD’s Lekhashree Samantsinghar and Congress’ Srikant Jena.

Also read: Odisha Elections 2024: 126 companies of CAPF to be deployed for last phase polls in Odisha

All eyes will also be on several key assembly seats going to polls in the last phase polls in Odisha on June 1.

Odisha BJP president Manmohan Samal is contesting from Chandbali assembly seat and Suryabanshi Suraj is from Dhamnagar.

Other prominent leaders whose fate will be sealed tomorrow include Pramila Mallick,  Niranjan Pattnaik, Ganeswar Behera, Prafulla Samal, Prashant Muduli, Sudam Marndi, Bibhu Prasad Tarai, Pratap Deb, Anant Sethi, Gitanjali Routray, Sandhyarani Das, Akash Das Nayak, Arindam Roy and Varsha Priyadarshini.

Senior officials of Odisha Police on Friday informed that around 36000 manpower, including 126 companies of CAPF, 86 platoons of Odisha Armed Police and 20500 civil police personnel will be deployed during the last phase polls.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now