Vikash Sharma

 After the successful completion of the first phase of voting in the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Odisha, all eyes are now on the second phase of voting scheduled to be held on May 20, 2024.

The Odisha Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) analysed the self-sworn affidavits of all 265 candidates, who are contesting in the Odisha Assembly Elections 2024 Phase II in 35 constituencies. Out of the 265 candidates, 95 (36%) candidates are crorepatis.

Also Read | Over Rs 10 lakh cash seized; BJD woman panellist among three detained

The average of assets per candidate contesting in the Odisha Assembly Elections 2024 in Phase II is Rs 3.98 crore. BJP’s candidate from Rourkela Dilip Ray tops the list with total assets of Rs 313 crore. BJD’s candidate from Bolangir Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo is placed in second position with a total asset of Rs 73 crore while BJD’s candidate from Kantabanji and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik is in the third position with a total asset of Rs 71 crore.

10 Richest Candidates in Phase II Polls:

Dilip Ray, BJP: Rs 313 crore

Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo, BJD Rs 73 crore

Naveen Patnaik, BJD (Kantabanji): Rs 71 crore

Naveen Patnaik, BJD (Hinjili): Rs 71 crore

Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo, BJP: Rs 67 crore

Saroj Kumar Meher, BJD: Rs 62 crore

Dipali Das, BJD: Rs 37 crore

Bhimsen Choudhry, BJD: Rs 17 crore

Anil Meher, INC: Rs 14 crore

Nakul Nayak, INC: Rs 14 crore

Must Read | 'Picture of cash distribution' during BJD campaigning goes viral; BJP apprises ECI

Candidates With Lowest Assets in Fray in Odisha Elections 2024 Phase 2 Polls:

Pradipa Sahu, Boudh (Independent): Rs 7,000

Abhiram Dharua, Kantabanji (All India Forward Bloc): Rs 8592

Satyananda Bohidar, Titilagarh (IND): Rs 11,000

Balram Nayak, Hinjili (BSP): Rs 11,000

Saroj Kumar Suna, Loisingha (National Apni Party): Rs 12000

Tuna Mallick, Bhanjanagar (CPI (ML) Red Star): Rs 14,679

Srikant Naik, Raghunathpali (National Apni Party): Rs 20,000

More from the Author | Cash seizure continues in poll-bound Odisha; surveillance and other measures intensified