Vikash Sharma

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Saturday announced the sixth list of Assembly candidates for the upcoming general elections in Odisha.

BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik announced the list of candidates via a video message today.

While Ollywood actress Varsha Priyadarshini, who recently joined the ruling party, will contest from Barchana, Ganeswar Behera has got BJD ticket for the Kendrapara Assembly seat.

Check the List of BJD Assembly Candidates:

Chilika- Raghunath Sahu

Anandapur- Abhimanyu Sethi

Saraskana- Debasish Marandi

Karanjia- Basanti Hembrum

Remuna- Bidyasmita Mahalik

Semulia- Subhasini Sahu

Barchana- Varsha Priyadarshini

Kendrapara- Ganeswar Behera

Champua- Sanatan Mahakud

Once again springing up a surprise, BJD denied tickets to five sitting MLAs including senior leader Amar Satpathy and Sashi Bhusan Behera from Barchana and Kendrapara Assembly seats, respectively.

Actress Varsha Priyadarshini has been fielded as the party candidate from Barchana. The actress recently joined the ruling party and speculations were abuzz that the party might rope her for campaigning by giving her some post. However, BJD roped Varsha as its candidate for Barchana Assembly seat.

Former Congress leader Ganeswar Behera has been fielded as BJD candidate for the Kendrapara Assembly seat.

Raghunath Sahu has been named BJD candidate from Chilika Assembly seat. It is pertinent to mention here that senior leader Prasanna Patasani was keen to contest from Chilika seat. Speculations are rife that Patasani might quit the BJD and join the BJP.

In his reaction, Raghunath Sahu said, “I thank the party supremo for reposing faith in me. I have been with the people of the constituency despite losing last time. There are no supporters of Prasanna Patasani in Chilika.”

BJD has roped in Debasish Marandi for the Saraskana Assembly seat. “I have got the opportunity to contest from the Assembly seat and I thank the people of the region for supporting me. I will try to fulfill the aspirations of the party leaders and work for the development of tribals and local residents here,” said Marandi.

Bidyasmita Mahalik, who has been named candidate from Remuna, said, “I am working with SHGs and come from a humble background. I thank CM for providing me an opportunity at a time when several influential people including bureaucrats were in the race for ticket.”

In his reaction, Ganeswar Behera, BJD’s Kendrapara candidate said, “I urge the people of Kendrapara to trust the BJD and give an opportunity to me to work for them by sending me to the State Assembly.”

Also Read | BJD announces 5th list of candidates, CM Naveen Patnaik to contest from Kantabanj