Himansu Shekhar Rout

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) announced its eighth list of Assembly candidates on Saturday. In the eighth list, the party announced candidates for 3 seats including, Bhograi, Begunia, and Khordha. 

BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced the names in the afternoon.

Below is BJD's 8th list of Assembly candidates: 

Bhograi: Goutam Buddha Das

Begunia: Pradeep Kumar Sahu
Khordha: Rajendra Kumar Sahu

In the eighth phase, the ruling party has axed tickets of two sitting MLAs including Bhograi MLA Ananta Das and Khordha MLA Jyotindranath Mitra.

Ananta Das had long been lobbying for a ticket for his son, as he was ailing. However, he has been replaced with Goutam Buddha Das this time. 

Khordha MLA Jyotindranath Mitra was replaced by Rajendra Kumar Sahu.

Also ReadBJD releases 6th list of candidates for Assembly seats; Varsha Priyadarshini to contest from Barchana

The BJD has so far declared candidates for 144 seats. It is yet to announce candidates for Khandapada, Nilagiri and Korei seats where infighting is reportedly been acute over ticket aspirations.