Sangati Jogwar

News Highlights

  • SIIMA Awards 2023 were held at the World Trade Centre in Dubai.
  • Jr NTR, Mrunal Thakur, Yash and Rishab Shetty clinched the main awards.

SIIMA Awards 2023 which celebrate the best of South Indian films from Malayalam, Telugu, Tamil, and Kannada were held recently in a star-studded event. Big names in the South film industry like Rana Daggubati , Jr. NTR attended the event and were spotted attracting the limelight on the red carpet.

Interestingly, Bollywood fame Mrunal Thakur was also seen at SIMMA 2023 and won two awards for her performance in Sita Raman.

The event is being held in Dubai in two parts at the World Trade Centre. The first part took place on September 15 and was entirely dedicated to Generation Next Awards and honoured the most promising artists from the South film industry.

On the second day, the main SIIMA Awards are given. While the winners are selected based on public polling the nominees are selected by a panel of jury.

Mrunal Thakur, Jr NTR make a splash at SIIMA Awards 2023

RRR was the biggest movie of 2022, so it was expected to win big at the awards function. Jr NTR was awarded the Best Actor in the lead role and SS Rajamouli won the Best Director Award for RRR.

However, the surprise winner was Mrunal Thakur who won both the Best Female Debutant and Best Actor Female Lead (critics) awards for Sita Raman. This Dulquer Salman-led movie also won the award in the Best Film category.

List of Telugu SIIMA Awards 2023:

  • Best Actor in a Leading Role - Jr NTR for RRR
  • Best Director - SS Rajamouli for RRR
  • Best Film - Sita Ramam
  • Best Debutant Actress - Mrunal Thakur for Sita Ramam
  • Flipkart Fashion Youth Icon - Shruti Haasan
  • Best Debutant Producers - Sharath-Anurag for Major
  • Promising Newcomer - Bellamkonda Ganesh
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role (Critics) - Adivi Sesh
  • Best Actress in a Leading Role - Sreeleela for Dhamaka
  • Best Actress in a Leading Role (Critics) - Mrunal Thakur for Sita Ramam

Rishab Shetty and Yash won at SIIMA

Kantara was one of the biggest hits last year. And Rishab Shetty ’s work was highly appreciated. He bagged the Best Male Actor Lead (critics) award. On the other hand, Kannada superstar Yash who returned as Rockybhai with KGF 2 won the Best Male Actor Lead award at SIIMA.

List of Kannada SIIMA Awards 2023:

  • Best Actor in a Leading Role- Yash
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role (Critics) - Rishab Shetty
  • Best Film - 777 Charlie
  • Sensation of the Year - Karthikeya 2
  • Best Actor in a Negative Role - Achyuth Kunar for Kantara
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Diganth Manchale for Gaalipata 2
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role - Shubha Raksha for Home Minister
  • Best Debutant Producer - Apeksha Purohit and Pavan Kumar Wadeyar for Dollu
  • Best Debutant Actor - Pruthvi Shamanur
  • Best Debutant Actress (Kannada) – Neetha Ashok for Vikrant Rona
  • Special Appreciation Award (Kannada) – Mukesh Laxman for Kantara
  • Special Appreciation Award (Actor in a Lead Role, Kannada) – Rakshit Shetty for Charlie 777