Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Sharjah: SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) on Tuesday won the toss and chose to bowl in their decisive final group stage match against Mumbai Indians (MI) in the Indian Premier League (IPL). SRH restricted MI to 149 runs at a loss of 8 wickets in the 56th IPL match. SRH need 150 in this game to win and go through to the playoffs.

MI skipper Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock were the openers in the match. With a slow start, the duo continued their innings. In a big blow to MI in the 3rd over, Rohit departed scoring only 4 runs off 6 balls. Sandeep Sharma took the big wicket.

Next, it was de Kock who departed in the 5th over. Again it was Sandeep who dismissed him while he could score 25 runs off 12 deliveries.

However, Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan had a steady partnership and took the team's total score to 78 by the halfway mark. But, Shahbaz Nadeem gave a big jolt to MI dismissing Suryakumar in the first ball of 12th over. Suryakumar scored 36 runs off 28 balls.

Krunal Pandya departed in the same over without scoring a run.

Again in the 13th over's first ball, Saurabh Tiwary departed scoring one run. Rashid Khan dismissed him while MI's score stood at 82.

In the 17th over, Sandeep once again struck back dismissing Ishan at 33.

Following the dismissal of 6th wicket, Jason Holder dismissed Nathan Coulter-Nile in the 18th over. Holder scored only one run.

However, Kieron Pollard took the total score to 145 before departing in the last over. Pollard scored 41 runs off 24 balls.

James Pattinson and Dhawal Kulkarni were the last standing batsmen of MI scoring 4 and 3 runs respectively taking the total score to 149 runs.

SRH captain David Warner said that they have brought in Abhishek Sharma for Priyam Garg. MI captain Rohit Sharma returns after an absence of four matches and he replaces Jayant Yadav. MI have rested their pace duo Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah for James Pattison and Dhawal Kulkarni.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni

SunRisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

Related Stories:

IPL 2020: Half-Centuries Of Dhawan, Rahane Help DC Clinch Victory From RCB By 6 Wickets

IPL 2020: SRH Beat RCB By 5 Wickets