Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Sharjah: SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) chasing the target of 150 runs in the 56th Indian Premier League (IPL) match on Tuesday posted a big win against Mumbai Indians (MI) by scoring 151 runs. With this win, SRH secured a spot in the playoffs. SRH won the match by 10 wickets with 17 balls left. Unbeaten partnership of the openers helped SRH clinch victory from MI.

Opener David Warner and Wriddhiman Saha had a good start. Their unbeaten partnership lead their team towards clinching victory from MI.

Warner scored 85 runs off 58 balls with 10 boundaries and one six.

While, Saha scored 58 runs off 45 deliveries with 7 boundaries and one six.

The duo scored a 50-run partnership before the end of powerplay.

In the first ball of 12th over, hitting a six, Warner took the team's total score to 103 runs. Meanwhile, Warner scored his 48th IPL half century.

Joining Warner's party, Saha also posted a brilliant half-century soon.

Dhawal Kulkarni spared 22 runs in 3 overs while Nathan Coulter-Nile spared 27 runs in 4 overs. James Pattinson spared 29 runs in 3 overs and Rahul Chahar gave 36 runs. Krunal Pandya spared 37 runs in 3.1 overs.

Earlier, SRH on Tuesday restricted Mumbai Indians (MI) to 149/8 wickets in 20 overs in a crucial Indian Premier League (IPL) match. Kieron Pollard's late charge gave the table toppers MI a boost after Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem stifled them for runs in the middle overs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

MI scored 51 runs in the last five overs, most of them courtesy Pollard who scored 41 in 25 balls. He hit two fours and four sixes in his innings before falling to his West Indies teammate Jason Holder.

Holder put up yet another influential performance with the ball for SRH in the middle overs, dismissing Nathan Coulter-Nile as well and conceding just 25 runs in his four overs.

MI captain Rohit Sharma's comeback didn't last long at the crease. He faced seven balls and scored just four runs before falling to pacer Sandeep. The bowler went on to dismiss Sharma's opening partner Quinton de Kock and the in-form Ishan Kishan.

Earlier, SRH won the toss and chose to bowl in their decisive final group stage match against MI.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Dhawal Kulkarni

SunRisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

Related Story:

IPL 2020: SRH Restrict MI To 149/8, SunRisers Need 150 To Go Through The Playoffs