Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Sharjah: SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) restricted Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to 120 runs at a loss of 7 wickets in the first innings of the 52nd match of 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL) at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Saturday. SRH won the match by 5 wickets scoring 121 runs with 35 balls left.

SRH skipper David Warner and Wriddhiman Saha were the openers of SRH. SRH had a good start. Warner hit a six in the 2nd over's first ball but got dismissed in the next ball. Washington Sundar took the first wicket. Warner could score only 8 runs off 4 balls.

Saha and Manish Pandey took over the burden of scoring for the team with their steady partnership. SRH's total score was at 58 runs by the end of powerplay.

But, in the next over, Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed Manish breaking their partnership. Manish scored 26 runs off 18 balls.

In the halfway, SRH was at 74/2 with Saha at 33 and Kane Williamson at 3 runs off 8 balls.

Chahal struck back again with dismissing Saha at 39 in the 11th over. Soon in the 13th over, Kane also departed scoring 8 runs off 13 balls.

However, Abhishek Sharma and Jason Holder partnered to take SRH's score past hundred in the 14th over. But, Abhishek departed in the same over scoring only 8 runs.

Jason Holder scored 26 runs off 10 deliveries and remained unbeaten. Holder hit a six to end the match beating RCB by 5 wickets.

Earlier, SRH's bowlers Sandeep Sharma and Jason Holder took two wickets each to restrict RCB to 120/7 wickets. Spinners Thangarasu Natarajan and Rashid Khan also had a good play in the innings by restricting the RCB batsmen from scoring runs. In the four overs each that the pair bowled, Natarajan registered figures of 1/11 while Rashid returned 1/24.

Sharma provided the breakthrough in the form of Devdutt Padikkal who could make only five runs before dismissing RCB captain Virat Kohli for the seventh time in the IPL.

AB de Villiers and Josh Philippe scored 43 runs before the former fell to Shahbaz Nadeem in the 11th over. Philippe was dismissed by Rashid after which Washington Sundar pushed on for RCB. He fell to Natarajan and Gurkeerat Singh Mann took them to the 120-run mark.

Earlier today, SRH won the toss and chose to bowl against RCB.


RCB: Virat Kohli (captain), Josh Philippe, Devdutt Paddikal, AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Washington Sundar, Chris Morris, Isuru Udana, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

SRH: David Warner (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

Related Story:

IPL 2020: SRH Restrict RCB To 120/7 In 52nd Match