Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Sharjah: Riding on a scintillating unbeaten 73 off 33 balls from AB de Villiers, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) ended their innings with 194/2 in the 28th match of the Indian Premier League here on Monday. However, KKR couldn't catch up with the massive target and lost the match scoring 112 runs at a loss of 9 wickets. RCB won the 28th match by 82 runs.

Shubman Gill scored 34 runs in 25 balls while Andre Russell scored 16 off 10 balls and Rahul scored 16 off 22 balls.

Kolkata Knight Riders' openers Shubman Gill and Tom Banton were out to bat while Chris Morris started the attack for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Banton departed scoring 8 runs and Rana was bowled by Washington Sundar at 9.

Gill got run out and KKR's score board was 55/3. With the departure of Karthik, RCB bagged 2 wickets back to back. Next it was E. Morgan's turn who departed scoring 8 runs. Russell lost his wicket to Udana and it was indeed a celebrating moment for RCB. Next, it was Cummins who departed with a single run while Tripathi scored 16 runs before losing his wicket to Siraj.

Before scoring a three-figure score, KKR had lost 8 wickets. Though Nagarkoti helped to achieve the three-figure score (108), he departed as the 9th wicket scoring only 4 runs.

Chris Moris and Washington Sundar got 2 wickets each while Yuzvendra Chahal got 1 wicket.

Related Story: IPL 2020: RCB Posts 195 Winning Margin For KKR

de Villiers hit six sixes and five fours as he set the stadium alight. He was well-supported by skipper Virat Kohli (33 not out off 28 balls) as the two scored 100 off 47 deliveries. Off the last five overs, RCB hammered 83.

AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Monday became the first pair in the Indian Premier League (IPL) to share 10 century partnerships.

The two batsmen added 100 runs off 47 balls against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Sharjah International Cricket Stadium.

Kohli and Chris Gayle have featured in nine century partnerships for RCB, Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner in six for the SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) while the Jonny Bairstow-Warner pair, also of SRH, and Gautam Gambhir-Robin Uthappa of KKR have featured in five partnerships each, according to statistician Bharath Seervi.

Both Kohli and AB also became the first pair in IPL history to accumulate 3,000 runs in partnerships. They are well ahead of the Chris Gayle-Kohli pair, which scored 2,782 runs for RCB and Dhawan-Warner, who made 2,357 runs when they were together for SRH.

RCB, who won the toss and elected to bat, got off to a flying start, adding 67 in 7.4 overs. Aaron Finch scored 47 (37 balls) while Devdutt Padikkal hit 32 (23).

(With Agency Inputs)

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now