Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)  post a mammoth winning target of 220 runs for Delhi Capitals (DC) in the 47th match of Indian Premier League (IPL) at Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday. DC failed to chase the mammoth target and SRH won the match by 88 runs dismissing all the wickets in 19 overs.

In a big blow to DC, Shikhar Dhawan who scored centuries in previous 2 matches, departed in the 3rd ball of the first over.  Sandeep Sharma took the big wicket which was a great achievement for SRH. Next, in the last ball of 2nd over, Marcus Stoinis was dismissed by Shahbaz Nadeem. Stoinis could score only 5 runs. Warner caught the two brilliant catches dismissing the two big wickets.

By the end of the powerplay, DC was at 54/2. Though, Ajinkya Rahane continued his innings he couldn't score much.

In the first ball after the powerplay, Shimron Hetmyer got bowled by Rashid Khan. He could score 16 runs off 12 deliveries. Shockingly, in the same over, Rashid dismissed Rahane in the 5th ball. Rahane scored 26 runs off 18 balls.

In the mammoth chase, DC was at 73/4 in the halfway mark.

Next, it was Vijay Shankar who dismissed DC skipper Shreyas Iyer. Shreyas scored only 7 runs off 11 balls. He departed in the 12th over.

Rashid Khan again attacked DC in the 13th over and dismissed Axar Patel (1). Next, it was T Natarajan who bowled Kagiso Rabada in the last ball of 16th over.

DC post 103 runs by the end of 16th over at a loss of 7 wickets with Rishab Pant unbeaten at 36 runs.

However, in the first ball of 17th over, Sandeep Sharma dismissed Rishab.

In the 18th over, Jason Holder dismissed Ravichandran Ashwin. he could score only 7 runs off 4 balls.

At last, Anrich Nortje departed in the last ball of 19th over. Natarajan took the last wicket of the innings.

SRH post a massive victory by 88 runs dismissing all the wickets of DC and restricting them to 131 runs with 6 balls left in the innings.

Related Story: IPL 2020: SRH Posts Winning Target Of 220 Runs For DC At Loss Of 2 Wickets

Earlier today, SRH openers David Warner and Wriddhiman Saha played a starring role to help their team to post a mammoth score of 219 at a loss of 2 wickets. The score was the highest in the 2020 IPL in 20 overs.

The pair shared a 107-run opening partnership, which they got within the first 10 overs, after Warner was dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin.

The total runs scored in today's match is SRH's highest this season in Dubai, and also marks the first time in 25 matches that DC fast bowler Kagiso Rabada went wicketless. Rabada conceded just seven runs in the 20th over.

Warner hit eight fours and two sixes on his way to a 34-ball 66. His onslaught took SRH to 77 for no loss in the first six overs, which is the highest score any team have managed in the powerplay.

Saha, who got his first match since SRH's game against Kolkata Knight Riders on September 26, played second fiddle to Warner for much of their opening partnership. Saha took the charge after Warner was dimissed and raced to 87 off 45 before falling to Anrich Nortje.

Manish Pandey kept up the run rate for SRH in the last two overs.

Delhi Capitals: Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant(wicketkeeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tushar Deshpande

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Jason Holder, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan