Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) restricted Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at 126 runs in the 43rd match of Indian Premier League (IPL) on Saturday at the Dubai International Stadium at a loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs. However, SRH lost the match by 12 runs and lost all wickets.

David Warner and Jonny Bairstow were the opening batsmen for SRH. A strong opening partnership of the duo took total score of SRH to 52 runs by the end of powerplay.

However, Ravi Bishnoi broke their partnership in the 7th over. Warner departed scoring 35 runs off 20 balls.

Next, Bairstow got bowled by Murugan Ashwin in the 8th over. Bairstow could score only 19 runs in 19 deliveries.

Mohammed Shami dismissed Abdul Samad in the 9th over. Samad could score only 7 runs off 4 balls.

By the end of 10 overs, SRH was 70/3 while the score after 6 overs was 99.

Next, Chris Jordan dismissed Manish Pandey at 15 runs in the 17th over, while Arshdeep Singh dismissed Shankar in the 18th over. Shankar could score 26 runs.

In the 19th over, Jordan  dismissed Holder at 5 runs. In the same over, Jordan again dismissed Rashid.

In the last over of the innings, Sandeep Sharma departed scoring zero and Priyam Garg departed scoring only 3 runs. Arshdeep Singh departed both of them back to back.

Khaleel Ahmed got run out in the 5th ball of the last over and with fall of all wickets of SRH it lost the match against KXIP by 12 runs with one ball left.

Jordan and Arshdeep took 3 wickets each, sparing 17 and 23 runs respectively.



Related Story: IPL 2020: SRH Restrict KXIP At 126 Runs At Loss Of 7 Wickets

SRH put up a clinical bowling performance to restrict KXIP in the match. KXIP were without opener Mayank Agarwal and struggled to get going throughout the innings and SRH turned the screws in the last five overs, conceding just 38 runs and taking two wickets.

Mandeep Singh was KXIP captain KL Rahul's opening partner in the absence of Mayank. He fell in the fifth over to Sandeep Sharma after which Chris Gayle joined Rahul in the middle. In the process, he became the fifth Indian to have 100 wickets in the IPL.

Gayle made a run a ball 20 before falling to fellow West Indies stalwart Jason Holder in the 10th over. KL Rahul fell to a nearly unplayable delivery from Rashid Khan off the first ball of the very next over.

Nicholas Pooran and Glenn Maxwell could not repeat their heroics that led to KXIP's victory in their previous match as SRH hardly made any mistakes in the field to back up their bowlers. While Pooran was unbeaten on 32 off 28 deliveries, Maxwell became Sandeep's second wicket of the day.

Earlier, SRH won the toss and chose to bowl against KXIP.

Also Read: IPL 2020: KXIP Wins Over MI In Super Over

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): KL Rahul(wicketkeeper/captain), Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Mandeep Singh, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Chris Jordan, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

SunRisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): David Warner(captain), Jonny Bairstow(wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan