Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) won the toss and chose to bowl against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the 43rd match of Indian Premier League (IPL) on Saturday at the Dubai International Stadium. SRH restricted KXIP at 126 runs getting a winning target of 127 runs. KXIP scored 126 runs at a loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs.

KL Rahul and Mandeep Singh were the openers of KXIP. However, Mandeep departed early in the fifty over's last ball scoring 17 runs off 13 balls. Sandeep Sharma got his first wicket in the innings.

Next, it was Chris Gayle who departed scoring only 20 runs off 20 balls. Jason Holder took the big wicket in the 10th over's last ball.

KL Rahul departed scoring 27 runs off 27 balls. Rashid Khan took the big wicket in the first ball of 11th over. Dismissing the big wickets-Gayle and Rahul, SRH bowlers put expectations of KXIP supporters into fumes.

Sandeep dismissed Glenn Maxwell in the 14th over. Maxwell could only score 12 runs off 12 balls.

Deepak Hooda departed scoring no runs in the 15th over. Following the dismissal of Deepak, Chris Jordan also departed in the 18th over. Chris scored 7 runs off 11 balls.

Murugan Ashwin got run out in the 19th over scoring only 4 runs off 4 balls.

However, Nicholas Pooran remained unbeaten but scored only 32 runs off 28 balls.

Related Story: IPL 2020: KXIP Wins Over MI In Super Over

Sandeep, Jason and Rashid each took 2 wickets sparing 29, 27, and 14 runs respectively. Khaleel Ahmed and T Natarajan spared 31 and 23 runs respectively without a single wicket.

Both sides are looking for a big win as the race for the final top four spot heats up.

Both teams have enjoyed big wins in their previous matches with SRH beating Rajasthan Royals by eight wickets and KXIP beating Delhi Capitals by five wickets.

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): KL Rahul(wicketkeeper/captain), Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Mandeep Singh, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Chris Jordan, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

SunRisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): David Warner(captain), Jonny Bairstow(wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

Also Read: IPL 2020: Half Centuries Of Manish, Vijay Help SRH Win Over RR By 8 Wickets