Vikash Sharma

Cuttack: The Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) on Monday announced to host a T-20 league named as Odisha Cricket League-T-20 from December 14.

The tournament will be conducted in association with TCM Sports Pvt. Ltd, informed OCA officials after a high-level meeting of the office bearers, Finance Committee and Tournament Committee today.

The OCA has planned to conduct a selection trial for the ensuing OCL T-20 and for the participation in the Syed Mustaque Ali Trophy which will be conducted by the BCCI.

“The selection committee of Odisha Cricket Association will select 168 cricketers who will be called for trial matches based on the performance of Vision 2024 Intra Club Tournament & BCCI matches,” said OCA in a statement.

The T-20 -Odisha Cricket League-T-20 will be conducted from December 14.

The OCL T-20 League will involve the best 84 players from Odisha who will be distributed in 6 teams. The players will be scouted from trial matches likely to be held from December 5.

All the matches of OCL T-20 will be played under Flood Lights at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack.
OCA officials informed that TCM has been closely working with IPL, ICC World Cup, Khelo India, ISL etc. They have already conducted T-20 leagues in Assam, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Puduchery, Bengal (ongoing) & Kerala (scheduled to be held on December 17, 2020).

All the matches of the OCL T-20 will be live streamed through over the top app (OTT) FANCODE.

The cricketing activities will be conducted in a bio secure bubble and the matches will be played without spectators, subjected to the approval of the Odisha government. All the prevailing COVID guideline will be followed strictly, OCA said in the statement.

Meanwhile, the OCA officials today also felicitated women cricketer Sushree Dibyadarshinee who participated in the Women T-20Challenge in the Team Velocity held at UAE.