Ramakanta Biswas

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha unit of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will announce the names of its candidates for the ensuing by-elections to Tirtol and Balasore Sadar Assembly constituencies within next two days.

Informing the same, BJP general secretary, Prithviraj Harichandan said a list of three candidates from each constituency has been sent to the party headquarters.

"The parliamentary board meeting is scheduled to be held within two days and the BJP candidates for the by-polls will be announced during the meeting," Harichandan said while addressing a presser in Bhubaneswar today.

Asked about the criteria for selection of candidates, the saffron party leader said, "Winnability is only one criterion for choosing candidates. The BJP will pick the best among the candidates having winnability."

Speaking about the agenda of the party for the by-elections, Harichandan said, "Our agenda is development. We will reach out to people on the issue of development and contest the by-elections. We are hopeful that people will accept us."

As per the notification of the Election Commission of India (ECI), the by-election to the Balasore and Tirtol Assembly constituencies will be held on November 3.

The bypolls have been necessitated following the demise of two sitting legislators - BJP MLA Madan Mohan Dutta (Balasore) and BJD legislator Bishnu Das (Tritol).

(Edited By Bikram Keshari Jena)

Read More:

By-Elections For Balasore & Tirtol Assembly Seats On November 3: ECI

Odisha By-Elections: Top Political Parties Vie For Victory