We Report, You Decide

By-Elections For Balasore & Tirtol Assembly Seats On November 3: ECI

Bhubaneswar: The by-election for Balasore and Tirtol Assembly constituencies will be held on November 3, as per a notification issued by Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday.

By-polls to the Balasore and Tirtol Assembly constituencies have been necessitated following the demise of sitting BJP MLA Madan Mohan Dutta ( Balasore) and sitting BJD legislator Bishnu Das (Tritol). The Balasore seat was with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while the ruling BJD represented the Tirtol seat.

Earlier on September 9, the Election Commission of India had decided to hold by-elections at the 56 vacant assembly constituencies across the country, including two in Odisha – Balasore Sadar and Tirtol, by November 29.

While a gazette notification will be issued for the by-election on October 9, the last date of filing nominations is October 16. The scrutiny will be on October 17 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is on October 19.

Also Read: Odisha By-Elections: Top Political Parties Vie For Victory

You might also like

Comments are closed.