• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Ramakanta Biswas

Bhubaneswar: Seven distinguished artists have been honoured with Dharmapada awards in recognition of their contributions in their respective fields by the Odisha Lalit Kala Academi.

Dharmapada award is the highest honour awarded by the State government for lifetime achievement and contribution towards enrichment of visual art and sculpture.

Several noted personalities were felicitated with the prestigious award. Gokul Bihari Pattnayak was honoured with the award for 2009, Aseem Basu for 2010, Dr Durgaprasad Das for 2011, Padmashri Sudarshan Sahoo for 2012, Padma Bhushan Jatin Das for 2013, Dinanath Padhi for 2014 and Padma Vibhushan Raghunath Mahapatra for 2015.

Gokul Bihari Pattnayak, Aseem Basu and Dinanath Padhi received the awards posthumously.

Culture Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahy felicitated the artists with cash reward of Rs 1 lakh cash, a citation and shawl at their residences in view of Covid-19 pandemic.

Odisha Lalit Kala Academi president Padmashree Sudarshan Patnaik and secretary and artist Gajendra Sahu were present on the occasion.

(Edited By Suryakant Jena)

Read More:

Names of Dharmapada awardees announced

Other Stories