Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was forced to announce three changes in India’s squad for the 5-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. 

The trio of Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma and Harshit Rana have been included in the Indian team for the first two matches, as replacements for Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube and Yashasvi Jaiswal, who are still in Barbados.

As per reports, Samson, Dube and Jaiswal couldn’t fly out earlier from Barbados as a hurricane shut down the airport at the island nation.

The situation has forced BCCI to name replacements for the three players.

Moreover, pacer Khaleel Ahmed and batter Rinku Singh, travelling reserves for the marquee event, are also currently in Barbados. However, BCCI has not named replacements for the duo even though they are in the squad for Zimbabwe series.

Notably, the World Cup winning team, originally scheduled to depart from Barbados on Monday, have been stranded in Barbados for the past two days due to Hurricane Beryl, which resulted in airports and businesses shut down.

Also ReadRohit Sharma Reveals Reason Behind Eating Grass Post T20 World Cup Win

India’s T20 World Cup-winning team is expected to fly from Barbados today, with the airport expected to be reopened.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now