• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Indian hockey defender from Odisha, Amit Rohidas, who earned his 100 caps at the Tokyo Olympics and was hailed a phenomenal first rusher, was conferred the prestigious Biju Patnaik Sports Award for outstanding performance in sports in Bhubaneswar on Sunday.

Amit received a citation and a cash award of Rs 2,00,000 by  State Sports and Youth Services Minister Tusharkanti Behera on the occasion of National Sports Day.

Veteran hockey coach of Odisha, Kalu Charan Choudhury, who has produced many national and international players and continues to train young hockey athletes, received the Biju Patnaik Sports Award for Lifetime Achievement in promotion of sports and games. He received a citation and cash award of Rs 3,00,000.


Biju Patnaik Sports Award for excellence in coaching went to badminton coach for para players, Shiba Prasad Das. He received cash award of Rs 1,00,000 and a citation.

Trailokyanath Parida, ASI Police, Cuttack received this year’s Biju Patnaik Bravery Award. He received a cash award of Rs 1,00,000, a silver medal and a citation.

Congratulating the winners, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, in a video message said, “I extend my warm wishes to all of you on the occasion of the birth anniversary of the legendary hockey player Major Dhyan Chand, celebrated as the National Sports Day.”

 “Over the past few weeks, Odisha’s model of sports is hailed all over the country. The entire country loves Odisha for supporting the national hockey teams who have gone on to script history at the Tokyo Olympics. Our model of partnership and High Performance Centres has drawn national attention. It is an endorsement of our vision, investment and efforts in sports. This is an opportunity for each one of us to work together with heightened commitment to take sports to greater heights. I am sure many more coaches and players will be inspired to bring glory to the State and country,” said Patnaik.

The awards were given in the presence of Odisha Hockey Promotion Council Chairman Dillip Tirkey,  State Welfare Youth Board Executive Chairman Bijaya Nayak and Commissioner-cum-Secretary of Sports and Youth Services Department R Vineel Krishna. Other sportspersons and officials of the sports department were also present at the annual award ceremony.

Other Stories