Himansu Shekhar Rout

Amid speculations over who will be the BJP’s chief ministerial choice for Odisha, the saffron party has started the exercise in this direction as the state BJP leaders have departed for New Delhi to hold discussions. 

Narendra Modi, during his election rally, had assertively announced that the BJP’s Chief Minister will take oath on June 10 in Odisha.

Girish Murmu for CM?

The name of former CAG and J&K Governor Girish Murmu and names of some newly-elected MLAs are doing rounds as the Chief Ministerial choice of the BJP. 

Murmu's name is widely being discussed in national media. Murmu, the 1985-batch Gujarat-cadre IAS officer, is close to Narendra Modi. Murmu served as Principal Secretary to Narendra Modi during the latter's tenure as Chief Minister of Gujarat. He was also the joint secretary of the Home Department when Amit Shah was the Home Minister. BJP may play the tribal card by installing Murmu as Odisha CM. 

The other leaders whose names are speculated for the CM post are newly-elected Sambalpur MLA Jayanarayan Mishra, former Odisha BJP president and newly-elected MLA from Patanagarh K V Singh Deo, newly-elected MLA from Brajrajnagar Suresh Pujari and newly-elected MLA from Keonjhar Mohan Majhi.  

Speaking to the media, Jayanarayan Mishra said, "An Odia son will be at the helm of Odisha. The decision will depend on the BJP’s legislature party and the party’s parliamentary board will give its approval.”   

On the other hand, 20 newly-elected BJP MPs have been called to New Delhi to attend the parliamentary party meeting to be held on Friday while speculation is rife about who among them may be inducted into the Union cabinet. 
BJP leader Aparajita Sarangi said, "All the newly-elected MPs have a meeting at 11 am tomorrow. The would-be PM would convene the meeting.”

BJP leader Jual Oram said, "The party’s parliamentary board meeting will be held tomorrow. The Prime Ministerial candidate will be decided. Narendra Modi will be made PM for the third time.”     

Multiple choices

Odisha BJP’s election in-charge Vijaypal Singh Tomar and co-in-charge Lata Usendi, Odisha BJP president Manmohan Samal, Jayanarayan Mishra have left for New Delhi as well.

Besides, it is speculated that there is a possibility of one of the five heavyweight leaders like Odisha BJP President Manmohan Samal, party’s National Vice President Baijayant Panda, Dharmendra Pradhan, Aparajita Sarangi and Pratap Sarangi being placed at the helm in Odisha.

  • Reported by:

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now