Pradeep Pattanayak

With the Lok Sabha and Odisha Legislative Assembly elections approaching fast, the BJD-led government is making a slew of announcements. 

As a part of this exercise, the government on Saturday announced that 34 new Notified Area Councils (NACs) in 20 districts have been formed and, at the same time, five NACs in four districts have been upgraded into municipalities. 

As per the announcement, Boudhgarh (Boudh), Karanjia (Mayurbhanj), Kantabanji (Bolangir), Chhatrapur and Aska (Ganjam) NACs have been upgraded to municipalities. 

Also Read: NAC demand for Borigumma gets louder; Congress, BJP lambast Odisha govt, BJD responds

The newly formed NACs are Pallahara and Chhendipada of Angul district, Basta and Simulia of Balasore district, Paikamal and Bheden of Bargarh district, Agarpada of Bhadrak district, Belapada and Saintala of Bolangir district, Binjharpur, Jaraka, Chandikhole and Panikoili of Jajpur district and Jaypatana of Kalahandi district. 

Similarly, Raikia of Kandhamal district, Borigumma of Koraput district, Sinapali of Nuapada district, Chandili, Muniguda and Bisamcuttack of Rayagada district, Dunguripali of Subarnapur district, Bonai of Sundargarh district, Sheragarh and Kukudakhandi of Ganjam district, Kantilo of Nayagarh district, Tangi and Begunia of Khordha district, Salepur, Badamba, Narasinghapur and Niali of Cuttack district, Betanati of Mayurbhanj district, Parjang of Dhenkanal district and Kantamal of Boudh district have been announced as NACs.

  • Reported by: