Himansu Shekhar Rout

The results of the elections to the three seats of Rajya Sabha will be declared on February 20. As only three candidates have filed their nominations for the seats, there is no need for elections slated on February 27.

This was informed by the Returning Officer for the Rajya Sabha elections, Abanikanta Pattnaik on Thursday. Speaking to the media, he said, “Only three candidates filed their nominations for the three vacant Rajya Sabha seats. If there had been contest in all three seats, elections would have been conducted,” he added.     

Today was the last day for the nomination filing. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) nominee seconded by 10 MLAs filed his nomination on the last day. Earlier, Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) nominees, former Barabati-Cuttack MLA Debasish Samantaray and Biju Yuba Janata Dal (BYJD) vice president, Subhasish Khuntia had filed their nominations for two other seats of Rajya Sabha.   

Also Read: Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw files nomination for Rajya Sabha polls in Odisha

If none of the three withdraw nomination on February 20, the last date for nomination withdrawal, the results will be declared on the same day, the Returning Officer added.

He also said that the names of three candidates will be sent as winners to the Election Commission of India.

  • Reported by: