Vikash Sharma

Barring a few stray incidents of violence, the first phase of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Odisha concluded peacefully on Monday. The state recorded a voter turnout of 73.97 percent in the first phase.

The fate of 280 candidates contesting in four Lok Sabha seats and 28 assembly segments in the first phase is now sealed in the EVM and all eyes will be on other crucial seats that will go to polls in subsequent phases.

Ahead of the second phase polling on May 20, the BJP on Tuesday claimed that the party has performed well in the first phase and is optimistic of winning a majority of seats.

Vijaypal Singh Tomar, Odisha election-in-charge today said that the BJP will win 18 out of 28 Assembly seats that went into polls in the first phase yesterday.

“BJP is going to win all the 4 Lok Sabha seats and 18 out of 28 Assembly seats in the first phase,” said Tomar. Tomar further claimed that the BJP will get a clear majority in Assembly and win above 16 Lok Sabha seats out of total 21 in Odisha this time. The BJP will definitely form the government in Odisha, Tomar added.

  • Reported by: