Odishatv Bureau

Among the 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, all eyes will be on Puri seat which is likely to witness a triangular fight between BJD’s Arup Patnaik, BJP’s Sambit Patra and Congress’ Jay Narayan Patnaik. 

Many believe that there will be direct contest between BJP’s Sambit Patra and BJD candidate Arup Patnaik.

The BJP has re-nominated Patra who had earlier lost to BJD’s Pinaki Mishra in the last polls.

Details About 3 Candidates

Sambit Patra, BJP

Sambit Patra practiced medicine and became a popular face of BJP on TV. He was subsequently promoted as national spokesperson of BJP.
It was 2019 that Patra made his electoral debut in Odisha. He was roped in by BJP from Puri where he lost the battle to BJD’s Pinaki Mishra in the 2019 elections.

Arup Patnaik, BJD

Mumbai’S  Ex Top Cop Arup Patnaik joined the BJD three years after his retirement in 2018. Patnaik retired in 2015 after serving as an IPS officer for 36 years.

Patnaik had led several important investigations including the Mumbai serial blasts and also served in the CBI. Later, he served as Mumbai Police Commissioner from 2011 to 2012.

After joining the BJD, Patnaik was elevated to the rank of a cabinet minister as the chief of Biju Yuva Bahini.
Patnaik made his electoral debut after BJD roped him for the prestigious Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat. He was pitted against former IAS officer and BJP’s Aparajita Sarangi in the 2019 elections but he lost to the BJP candidate.

Jay Narayan Pattanayak, Congress

It will be Jay Nayaran Pattanayak’s political debut in this election. He has been associated with the Congress since long.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now