Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

As many as four constituencies of Odisha will go to polls in the fourth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections 2024 on May 13. Voting will be held in four phases in Odisha with the first phase polling on May 13. The election has brought anticipation and excitement as voters across various constituencies in the State gear up to exercise their democratic rights and responsibilities to choose their representatives.

As per the announcement by the Election Commission of India (ECI), polling process will commence early in the morning and continue throughout the day until the evening. The process will ensure ample time for all eligible voters to exercise their franchises. 

Odisha, with its rich cultural heritage and diverse populace, is preparing for Phase 4 of the Lok Sabha Election 2024 in the country. In Phase 4, which is the first phase election in the state out of the four phases, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput constituencies will go to polls. 

Several constituencies are set to witness intense electoral battles, with prominent candidates from various political parties locking horns for victory.


Let’s have a look at the key constituencies of Odisha going to polls in the Phase 4 of the Lok Sabha elections:

Draupadi Manjhi from the Indian National Congress (INC), Malvika Keshari Deo of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Lambodhar Nial from the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) are locking horns against each other. It is expected to be a tough fight in the seat. The constituency is currently represented by BJP leader Basanta Kumar Panda.

Kalahandi LS seat comprises seven Assembly constituencies- Nuapada, Khariar, Lanjigarh, Junagarh, Dharmgarh, Bhawanipatna and Narla. 


This constituency is reserved for ST candidates and will witness an intense fight between Congress candidate Bhujbal Manjhi, BJP nominee Balabhadra Majhi and Pradeep Majhi from the BJD. 

Nabarangpur LS seat also comprises seven Assembly constituencies- Umerkote, Jharigam, Nabarangpur, Dabugam, Kotpad, Malkangiri and Chitrakonda. 


This constituency is currently represented by BJD’s Chandra Sekhar Sahu. The Congress has fielded Rashmi Ranjan Pattnaik to take on BJD’s Bhurgu Baxi Patro who was the Odisha BJP vice president till April 2024. BJP has nominated Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy, a three-time MLA from Gopalpur Assembly constituency.

Berhampur LS seat also comprises seven Assembly constituencies- Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Berhampur, Digapahandi, Chikiti, Mohana and Paralakhemundi.


Congress candidate and incumbent MP Saptgiri Sankar Ulaka, BJP nominee Kaleram Majhi and BJD’s Kausalya Hikaka will fight for the top honours in the constituency reserved for SC candidates.

Koraput LS seat also comprises seven Assembly constituencies- Gunupur, Bissam-Cuttack, Rayagada, Lakshmipur, Jeypore, Koraput and Pottangi.

Odisha sends 21 members to the Lok Sabha. Of the 21 Odisha Lok Sabha constituencies, five are reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates and three for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates.