Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) may release another list of candidates for the upcoming Odisha Assembly Elections 2024 today.

BJP’s Odisha election in-charge Vijayapal Singh Tomar informed that the party may announce the name of 20-22 more candidates from the 35 Assembly constituency seats today and announce the names of the remaining candidates before April 20.

Tomar is currently on a visit to Odisha. He reached Rourkela today and chaired a meeting with Sundargarh party president and all the party officials in the district and discussed about the selection of candidates and poll strategy. 

“Meetings with Sundargarh district presidents and all the party officials of the district will be conducted today and hopefully names of around 20 to 22 party candidates for different Assembly seats will be announced today. The rest of the candidates will be announced before April 20,” said Tomar.

“Name of the candidate for the Rourkela seat is likely to be announced this evening or by tomorrow after the meeting,” said BJP’s Lok Sabha candidate for Sundargarh Jual Oram.

Earlier, the BJP had announced its list of 112 candidates in April's first week.

Odisha will vote for its 147-member Assembly along with the 21 Lok Sabha seats, simultaneously, in four phases, starting May 13.