Mrunal Manmay Dash

With no end to the suspense over an alliance between Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress party has asserted that it will win more than 100 seats in the Odisha Assembly if an alliance actually happens.

Speaking to reporters, senior Congress leader and Jatni MLA, Suresh Routray said, “Our tickets are ready to be distributed. But we will not declare it until both the BJD and the BJP declare their candidates. We will field candidates who will render their (BJD & BJD) candidates useless.”

“I think, if an alliance actually takes place between them, Congress will win more than 100 seats in Odisha and Sarat Patnaik will become the CM of Odisha. Similarly, we will win 14-17 MPs and Rahul Gandhi will become the PM of India,” Routray claimed.

The BJD on the other hand too claimed to win the election and announced its preparations for the election.

“BJD is always ready for elections. We have been preparing for the 2024 elections since the declaration of the 2019 election results. Our party will decide on the candidates at the right time. Naveen Patnaik will create history by becoming the Chief Minister for the sixth consecutive time,” said BJD MLA Nrusingha Sahu.

It is pertinent to mention here that Sahu was the one who suggested earlier that BJD has agreed to an alliance only in the interest of Odisha. “The people of Odisha will be benefitted from the alliance. While some BJD ticket aspirants will be displeased after not getting tickets, I do not think anybody will revolt in BJD,” he had said.

Meanwhile, the model code of conduct came into effect with the announcement of the election date. Posters of the ruling party and other political parties are being taken out in different cities of the state.

Various government hoardings and political posters put up at the Balasore district Collector's office were removed. Similarly, posters put up in different areas of Talcher were also removed yesterday. The district administration removed posters in different areas of Digapahandi and Sanakhemundi constituencies of Ganjam too.