Himansu Shekhar Rout

Governor Raghubar Das dissolved the Odisha Legislative Assembly on Monday following a recommendation of the state Cabinet.

Earlier in the day, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik presided over the Cabinet meeting and recommended the Governor for dissolution of the Legislative Assembly till the formation of a newly-elected legislature.

The Department of Parliamentary Affairs issued a notification signed by the Chief Secretary to this effect. 

The notification read, "In exercise of the power conferred upon me by Clause 121 (b) of Article-174 of the Constitution of India, I hereby order that the Odisha Legislative Assembly constituted vide Notification No 308/OR-LA/2019 dated 25 May 2019 Of Election Commission of India, shall stand dissolved with effect from the date a newly elected Legislature is constituted by the Election Commission of India.”

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now