Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Many leaders of the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) continue to quit the party ahead of the upcoming 2024 General Elections. Former BJD MLA Priyadarshi Mishra is the latest to tender his resignation from the ruling party in the State.

Mishra resigned from the primary membership of BJD on Saturday. He has submitted his resignation to the party supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in this regard.

“I started my political career from my student days with late Biju Patnaik, the legendary political figure of the State. I have given my sincere service to the people and the party for more than three decades. Due to continuous neglect in the party, I am resigning from the primary membership of the party,” wrote Mishra in his letter addressed to the BJD supremo.

Also ReadAnother jolt for BJD as Anubhav Mohanty quits party ahead of 2024 elections

Earlier former MLA and BJD leader Dambaru Sisha had resigned from the primary membership of the party.

In his letter to BJD president, Naveen Patnaik, Sisha said that he wants a fresh start to meet the aspirations of people and workers.

Soon after quitting the BJD, Mishra joined BJP at the party headquarter in Bhubaneswar in presence of BJP’s Odisha Election In-Charge Vijaypal Singh Tomar, State party president Manmohan Samal and Bhubaneswar MP Aparajita Sarangi.

“We have joined BJP after being influenced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ideology. Modi ji’s vision to transform India into a powerful economy has encouraged people from different sections of the society. I extend my congratulation to all who have joined BJP along with me. I am hopeful that we all will undertake developmental activities under BJP and perform well in the upcoming election,” said Mishra after joining BJP.

Also Read | Former MLA & actor Akash Das Nayak quits BJD

Earlier, Mishra had resigned from the primary membership of BJD.