Vikash Sharma

In a major jolt to BJD, its senior leader and former Bargarh MP Prabhas Singh on Monday resigned from the primary membership of the party ahead of the crucial 2024 elections. Singh also resigned from the BJD’s district president post as the party didn't give him ticket for the Bargarh LS seat. He was BJD MP from Bargarh till 2019 from 2014, but did not get ticket in 2019 as well.

It is pertinent to mention here that BJD has nominated Parinita Mishra as its candidate for Bargarh Lok Sabha seat. Mishra will lock horns with BJP’s Pradeep Purohit and Congress’ Sanjay Bhoi.

In his resignation letter, Singh wrote, “During my tenure with BJD, I have strived to uphold the values of discipline and dedication, delivering my best in every capacity. However, after careful consideration and due to various intricacies and difficulties, I believe it is in the best interest of all parties involved that I step down from my position.”

In his reaction, Singh said, “I have worked hard for the party and served the people. I was deprived of ticket in 2019 but still worked for the party in various constituencies. I have always worked for the development of the region and people. But today, I realise that there has been some changes in the ideology of BJD.”

Singh said that he resigned from the BJD and have informed his decision to party supremo Naveen Patnaik.

When asked if his decision to quit BJD was due to not getting a ticket, Singh said, “I would have left the party when ticket was denied in 2019. Already tickets have been distributed by other parties. But I was hurt that no discussion was held with a district president and there is no internal democracy in the party. I felt unfit here. I will hold talks with my supporters and people to decide on my next course of action. It is always the prerogative of the party president to give tickets.”

Apart from Singh, BJD leader and Birmaharajpur block chairman Shanti Luha also resigned from the primary membership of the party. Shanti’s husband Narayan Luha, who was expecting BJD ticket for Birmaharajpur Assembly seat, also resigned from the ruling party on Monday.

  • Reported by: