Vikash Sharma

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday directed for the immediate transfer of several IAS and IPS officers in various districts of Odisha ahead of the crucial 2024 elections.

In a letter to Odisha Chief Secretary, ECI Secretary Rakesh Kumar has asked for the transfer of several officers out to non-election related post with immediate effect.

As per the notification, eight Collectors, SPs and IG have been asked to be immediately transferred ahead of the elections.

It is pertinent to mention that several political parties had earlier apprised the ECI alleging biasness on the part of several officers, misusing their position and working for a particular party.

Here is the complete list of officers:

DM and DEO Cuttack Vineet Bharadwaj
DM and DEO Jagatsinghpur Parul Patwari
IPS Ashish Kumar Singh (IG Central) 
Sundargarh SP Kanwar Vishal Singh
Khordha SP Jugal Kishore Banoth
Rourkela SP Mitrabhanu Mohapatra
Berhampur SP S. Vivek Kumar
Angul SP Sudhanshu Sekhar Mishra

Earlier on March 21, the ECI issued transfer orders for non-cadre officers who are posted at leadership positions as District Magistrate (DM) and Superintendent of Police (SP) in Odisha. The officers were Collector of Dhenkanal and SPs of Deogarh and Cuttack Rural.