Himansu Shekhar Rout

Unhappy after being denied a party ticket, senior BJD leader and Soro legislator Parshuram Dhada and former Phubani MLA Debendra Kanhar resigned from the primary membership of the party soon after party president Naveen Patnaik announced the second list of candidates for Assembly seats. 

As per reports, Parshuram was denied a BJD ticket this time and the party fielded Madhav Dhada in his place. Parshuram sent his resignation to the BJD president, alleging, “…for the last one year or so, some intermediary executives misreported the facts and did not render due support. Despite that, I had been putting in my efforts with due sincerity.”  

Speaking to OTV, the legislator pointed his finger at a coterie saying, “My efforts and dedication to establish the party in the Soro Constituency turned costly for me.”

As for his future plan, he said that he has not taken any decision in this regard. "I will take the next step after consulting my supporters, seniors and well-wishers. I will contest in the polls to serve the people of my constituency, “he added.

He alleged that a group of conspirators succeeded in their plan to deprive him of a ticket, but the party supremo failed to notice it.    

Former Phulbani MLA Debendra Kanhar also sent his resignation letter to the party president. In his, letter, Kanhar stated, that his sister Anima Kanhar, who is the chairperson of Khajuripada block and the president of the BJD’s district women's wing, was not given a party ticket even though she had been working dedicatedly as a disciplined party worker. In her place, Jayashree Kahnar was given the ticket.

However, no reaction was received from the BJD.