Pradeep Pattanayak

The Congress on Saturday announced the names of candidates for Lok Sabha and Assembly seats in Odisha. 

The party announced names of candidates for 3 Lok Sabha seats and 16 Assembly seats in Odisha.

Here is the list of candidates for Lok Sabha seats:

Sambalpur:Dulal Chandra Pradhan

Keonjhar: Binod Bihari Nayak

Aska: Debokanta Sharma

Below is the list of party candidates for Assembly seats 

Jharsuguda: Amita Biswal

Badasahi: Kshirod Chandra Patra

Sukinda: Bibhu Bushan Rout

Kantamal: Sarat Kumar Pradhan 

Kendrapara: Shipra Mallick

Rajanagar: Ashok Pratihari

Mahakalapada: Loknath Moharathy

Nimapara: Siddharth Routray

Pipili: Gyan Ranjan Patnaik

Jayadev: Krushna Sagaria 

Khurda: Sonali Sahoo

Chilika: Pradeep Kumar Swain

Khandapada: Manoj Kumar Pradhan

Daspalla: Nakul Nayak

Kabisuryanagar: Sanjaya Kumar Mandal 

Gopalpur: Shayam Sahu

Expressing her happiness for being nominated for the Kendrapara Assembly seat, Shipra Mallick said, “We will definitely come out victorious. My focus will be to bring a change and strengthen the organisation of the nation’s oldest party.” 

Similarly, a delighted Ashok Pratihari, who has been fielded from the Rajnagar Assembly seat, said, “I am grateful to the Congress leaders for reposing faith in me. If I am elected, my first step will be to work for the development of farmers. I will ensure irrigation in all non-irrigated lands in Rajnagar."

On getting the ticket for the Nimapara Assembly constituency instead of the Jatani constituency, Siddharth Routray said, “We will win in Jatani as well as in Nimapara. I have been moving around on a bicycle in Nimapara for the last six months. I have visited each and every house twice. I was in Jatani to look for an appropriate candidate for the seat.”

Tension erupts at Congress Bhawan 

Meanwhile, the exclusion of certain Congress leaders from the list irked the youth Congress members who laid siege to Congress Bhawan and locked it up. 

“Injustice has been meted out to yuva Congress. We had asked for only 10 tickets out of 147. PCC chief Sarat Pattanayak has not given a single ticket to us. They have given tickets to those who were imported from other parties and those who were speaking negatively about PRAGAMAN. But they ignored those who had shed blood for the party and were beaten up by the police. We will close the Bhawan till the arrival of Sarat Pattanayak,” said an agitating member of the youth Congress.