Vikash Sharma

The BJP's list of candidates for the upcoming assembly and the remaining 3 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha is likely to be released soon. Sources said, the names of candidates have been finalised at the crucial Core Committee meeting held at Delhi on Thursday.

Union Hom Minister Amit Shah, BJP national president JP Nadda, BJP national vice-president Baijayant Panda, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Odisha BJP chief, and other state leaders and election-in-charge for the state attended the Core Committee meeting.

The Core Committee meeting concluded after deliberations for over 5 hours.

Sources said that the names of candidates will be released after approval of the Central Election Committee. It is expected that the names of candidates for 100 Odisha Assembly seats will be announced soon.

On March 24, the BJP announced the list of candidates for 18 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha.

While the saffron party has fielded Dharmendra Pradhan from the Sambalpur seat, Baijayant Jay Panda has been fielded from Kendrapara.  Similarly, the party has fielded Aparajita Sarangi from Bhubaneswar, Jual Oram from Sundargarh, Sambit Patra from Puri, and Pratap Sarangi from Balasore.

On March 27, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president Naveen Patnaik declared the names of 15 candidates for the Lok Sabha and 72 nominees for the Odisha Assembly elections.

  • Reported by: