Mrunal Manmay Dash

Amid a possible alliance between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) ahead of the General Elections 2024, all eyes are now on the probable seat-sharing ratio between the two parties.

If reports are to be believed, the BJP will fight in 13 Lok Sabha seats of Odisha, and BJD will have to be content with fighting in 8 LS seats.

While LS seat sharing is almost certain and is very likely to remain either 13-8 or 14-7, the seat sharing ratio in the Assembly election is still uncertain.

However, experts believe that the BJD may retain 100-110 seats and give 35-45 seats to the BJP to fight in the Assembly elections.

While reliable sources said the seat-sharing ratio has already been decided between the two parties on the primary level, the official announcement of the alliance is expected to be made during Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s visit to Odisha on March 12.

Senior BJP leader and MP, Jual Oram on Wednesday said that a discussion regarding the BJP-BJD alliance was held at the Core Committee meeting in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Oram further stated that the Central leadership of the BJP will take a final call on the coalition issue.

Odisha BJP president Manmohan Samal, and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan among others attended the Core Committee meeting held under the chairmanship of BJP National President JP Nadda. Union Home Minister Amit Shah was also present.

At the same time, senior leaders of the BJD also held a series of meetings with Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik at his official residence in Bhubaneswar on Wednesday.

After a marathon meeting in Bhubaneswar, senior BJD leader Debi Prasad Mishra said, “Today, a lot of issues were discussed at the meeting held under the CM’s leadership. Odisha is heading towards next level of development and efforts are on by the Naveen Patnaik-led government in this regard.”

Senior BJD leader Arun Sahoo also reiterated the same. “We have discussed several issues and any decision will be taken in the interest of the state,” said Sahoo.