Vikash Sharma

In what could be a setback for Congress’ Odisha unit, several leaders including former minister Nabin Chandra Narayan Das have snapped ties with the party on Monday.

Apart from Das, former president of Dhenkanal district president Saroj Patnaik, Odapada block president Pramod Nayak, Dhenkanal Town Congress president and others have also resigned from the party.

The former minister has submitted his resignation to AICC President Mallikarjun Kharge. In his resignation letter, Das vented his anger on PCC President Sarat Pattanayak.

“The PCC president is behaving like a King and not carrying any senior persons or experienced persons to discuss, to take opinion or to find ways for improvement of party organisation... (sic),” Das wrote in his letter to AICC President.

Das further said, “The PCC President only claims that the party will win. But only saying will not work as no consultations are being made with others in the party. We are also accountable to ensure party’s growth. But if PCC President will not guide or take all, there is no possibility of staying under his leadership. Let alone 90, Congress won't get 0 seats under such state of affairs.”

Former president of Dhenkanal district president Saroj Patnaik said, “AICC President had appointed me and hence I have tendered my resignation to him. We have not decided on joining any party yet. We will have discussions with all and an appropriate decision will be taken.

Meanwhile, PCC President could not be contacted over the statements made by Das and others.

  • Reported by:
  • Rajashree Satpathy