Vikash Sharma

Another Odia has been entrusted with key responsibility by the Centre. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty, Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) as Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy and Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission.

As per the official notification, Mohanty will hold the post for a tenure up to the age of 66 years i.e. till 10.10.2025 or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty was appointed as the 13th Director of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre on March 12, 2019.

Also Read: Making Odisha Proud: Odias In Charge Of Key Roles In Indian Government

Born in 1959 in Odisha, Dr. Mohanty completed his graduation in 1979 with Honours in Physics from MPC College, Baripada and post-graduation in 1981 from Ravenshaw College, Cuttack. In 1983, Mohanty joined the Nuclear Physics Division, BARC after graduating from the 26th Batch of BARC Training School. He obtained his doctorate from Mumbai University.

Dr. Mohanty held several honorary positions at various organizations. He served the Indian Physics Association (IPA) as General Secretary and later as its President. He has twice been the CERN Scientific Associate, first during 2002-2004 and again during 2010-2011.

Earlier several eminent personalities from Odisha have been given key roles in important departments at the national level.

Shaktikant Das has been serving as the Governor of Reserve Bank of India since December 2018. A 1970 batch IAS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre, Das was deputed to Centre on 2014 after Narendra Modi became the Prime Minister.

Similarly, the ‘Cyclone Man’ Mrutyunjay Mohapatra is also serving as the Director General of India Meteorological Department.