Vikash Sharma

A day after the Odisha government announced the formation of 34 new Notified Area Councils (NACs) in 20 districts, protests have erupted in other places that have been excluded.

A 12-hour bandh is being observed at Loisingha area in Bolangir district on Sunday. The BJP and Congress have extended support to the bandh called by the Loisingha Bikash Parishad to protest the disparity in according NAC status to Loisingha.

Not only Bolangir, but similar resentment is also brewing in Boudh district. A dawn-to-dusk bandh is also being observed today at Purunakatak area which has also been left out from the NAC tag. Meanwhile, the locals have blamed the Kantamal MLA for Manamunda being dropped from the new NAC list as announced by the Odisha government on Saturday. The locals have threatened to intensify their agitation by even boycotting the upcoming polls if the state government doesn’t roll back its decision.

The leaders of various political parties have threatened for Biramaharajpur bandh which has also failed to get the NAC status.

On Saturday, the Odisha government announced 34 new Notified Area Councils (NACs) in 20 districts while five NACs in four districts have been upgraded into municipalities.

As per the announcement, Boudhgarh (Boudh), Karanjia (Mayurbhanj), Kantabanji (Bolangir), Chhatrapur and Aska (Ganjam) NACs have been upgraded to municipalities. The newly formed NACs are Pallahara and Chhendipada of Angul district, Basta and Simulia of Balasore district, Paikamal and Bheden of Bargarh district, Agarpada of Bhadrak district, Belapada and Saintala of Bolangir district, Binjharpur, Jaraka, Chandikhole and Panikoili of Jajpur district and Jaypatana of Kalahandi district.

Also Read: Odisha to get 5 new municipalities, 34 new NACs  

  • Reported by: