Himansu Shekhar Rout

Ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress appointed Ajoy Kumar as the in-charge of Odisha on Saturday. Party veteran Chellakumar was in the post earlier. Apart from Odisha, Ajoy Kumar has also been named in-charge of Tamil Nadu and Puduchery while Chellakumar has been appointed as in-charge of the party in Meghalaya, Mizoram, and Arunachal Pradesh.

Two days after the Congress Working Committee (CWC) meeting, the AICC carried out the rejig at the organizational level keeping the elections in mind. It also removed Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as the party in-charge in Uttar Pradesh.  

Former Rajasthan deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot has been appointed as in-charge of Chhattisgarh Congress, while Ramesh Chennithala, a senior party leader from Kerala, will work as in-charge of the party for Maharashtra.

Also Read: Odisha Congress optimistic on 'Mission 90' 

Jitendra Singh, who is the general secretary in-charge of Assam, was given the additional charge of Madhya Pradesh, while Deepak Babaria holds the charge of Delhi and the additional charge of Haryana, the statement from AICC said.

Devender Yadav was named as the party in-charge for Punjab while Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa will remain as the in-charge of Rajasthan. Bharatsingh Solanki has replaced Rajni Patil as Jammu and Kashmir in-charge.