Vikash Sharma

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday announced the much-awaited schedule for Lok Sabha elections. The dates of assembly elections in four states – Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, and Sikkim were also announced today.

The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases and the counting of votes will be held on June 4, 2024, informed the ECI at a press conference held in New Delhi today. With the announcement, the model code of conduct has come into effect.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar informed, "The first phase will be held on April 19, the second phase on April 26, the third phase on May 7, the fourth phase on May 13, the fifth phase on May 20, the sixth phase on May 25, and the seventh phase on June 1."

The poll schedule for four state Assemblies - Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim - were also declared. Besides, bypolls to 26 Assembly constituency seats will be held in Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Tripura, Telangana, and Tamil Nadu.

The Lok Sabha elections 2024 will be held at 10.5 lakh polling stations from April 19 to June 1 and counting of votes will be held on June 4.

Read More: Battle 2024: Odisha to go for simultaneous Lok Sabha, assembly polls in 4 phases from May 13

A total of 96.8 crore people are eligible to vote in the upcoming general polls. The Chief Election Commissioner said that voters older than 85 years of age will be allowed to vote from home.

The current tenure of the 17th Lok Sabha ends on June 24. In the 2019 general polls, the BJP won 303 seats while the Congress got only 52 seats.

Phase 1Phase 1


Phase 2Phase 2
Phase 3Phase 3
Phase 4Phase 4
Phase 5Phase 5
Phase 6Phase 6
Phase 7Phase 7