Suryakant Jena

Senior IPS officer Sunil Kumar Bansal on Friday took charge as the new Director General of Police (DGP) of Odisha.

An Odisha cadre officer of 1987 batch, Bansal took the reins of the State's police force from the outgoing DGP Abhay at a function at the Odisha Police Headquarters in Cuttack today.

Bansal who had served as the chief of the district police units in Mayurbhanj and Sambalpur had left Odisha on Central deputation in 1994.

Prior to his appointment as the head of the Odisha police, Bansal served as the Special Director of Subsidiary Intelligence Bureau, Mumbai.

The Odisha government had cleared the name of Bansal to the top post of the State police on December 15 from the list of three candidates shortlisted by the UPSC which also included Pradeep Kapur (1986 batch) and Manoj Chhabra (1988 batch).

Other Stories