• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Vikash Sharma

Ahead of the Panchayat elections, the Odisha Government on Wednesday appointed senior IPS officer Sunil Kumar Bansal as the new Director General (DG) of Police.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has appointed the 1987-batch IPS officer as the new chief of Odisha Police.

Currently, Bansal, who has been on central deputation, is posted as Special Director IB, Mumbai. He will assume charge as DGP Odisha from incumbent DGP Abhay who will complete his two-year tenure on December 31, 2021.

The 1986-batch IPS officer, Abhay, was appointed as the director-general of Odisha police (DGP) in 2019.

" I will be happy to return to Odisha.i will try to serve people of the State sincerely with all my heart. But I haven’t received any formal order regarding appointment as yet," said the newly-appointed Odisha DGP Sunil Bansal to OTV.

The notification issued by the Odisha Government (Home Department) read, "On recommendation of the Union Public Service Commission, and in the interest of public service, Sunil Kumar Bansal is appointed as DGP (Head of Police Force), Odisha for a period of two years, with effect from the date of joining in the post."


Other Stories