• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Pradeep Pattanayak

The stage is set for the first tribal woman from Odisha, President-elect Draupadi Murmu to take the oath of office and secrecy and adorn the highest office of the Indian constitution on Monday. The swearing-in ceremony will take place in the Central Hall of the Parliament. 

According to the itinerary released by the Rashtrapati Bhavan Secretariat, President Ram Nath Kovind and President-elect Draupadi Murmu will arrive at the Parliament House in a ceremonial motorcade at 10.03 am. They will be received by the Rajya Sabha Chairman, Lok Sabha Speaker and the Chief Justice of India. 

At 10.14 am, Chief Justice of India NV Ramana will administer Draupadi Murmu the oath of office. 

At 10.18 am, the new President will sign the oath register and at about 10.23 am, she will deliver her first-ever Presidential address to the Nation. 

Among others, the ceremony will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, State Governors, Chief Ministers, Heads of Diplomatic Missions, Members of Parliament, Civil and Military officers of the Government of India. 

Notably, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has already reached New Delhi to take part in the swearing-in ceremony. Six MLAs of Mayurbhanj, Udala NAC Chairperson, Draupadi Murmu’s classmates Dangi Murmu and Gaya Didi will also attend the ceremony. 

“Today we the six MLAs and Udala NAC Chairman will visit New Delhi to attend Didi’s swearing-in ceremony,” said Rairangpur MLA Naba Charan Majhi.

Expressing her excitement about joining the ceremony, Draupadi Murmu’s friend said she feels like Sudama who is being called by Krishna for their divine meeting.

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.