Pradeep Pattanayak

Laxmisagar Police in Bhubaneswar arrested four drivers for driving under the influence of alcohol late at night on Monday. They were produced in court on Tuesday, police said. 

The drivers were arrested instead of being allowed to go after paying fines because the Commissionerate Police is now adopting a ‘zero tolerance’ stance against drunk driving. Earlier, such drivers were allowed to go after collecting fines. But from now onwards, they will be arrested and the court will grant them bail. 

According to sources, Laxmisagar Police had launched a special drive on Monday. During the checking, the police detained four drivers near Cuttack Road. Their breath analyzer checks confirmed that they were driving under the influence of alcohol. Their vehicles were seized and they were arrested. On Tuesday, they were forwarded to court. 

Also Read: No bouncers in Cuttack, Bhubaneswar bars without Commissionerate police verification; guidelines issued

The arrested persons have been identified as Madan Mohan Sahu, a resident of Banamalipur area; Amit Kumar Mohanty of the Bhimatangi area, Tapas Paramanik, a West Bengal resident and Shibam Gupta of Malgodam area in Cuttack. 

“Following the directions of the Commissioner of Police and Deputy Commissioner of Police, we launched a special drive against drunken driving in Laxmisagar area on Monday night. During checking, four vehicles were seized and the breath analyzer tests confirmed they were heavily drunk,” said ACP Zone IV Subhranshu Sekhar Nayak. 

“The drunk drivers are not only jeopardising their lives but also putting others' lives in danger. So we are strictly implementing the zero-tolerance approach against drunk drivers. The checking will be done continuously,” he added.

  • Reported by: