• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Sharmili Mallick

With the rapid rise in the number of new Covid infections and the threat of Omicron variant which, as per experts, has the potential to trigger the third wave of Covid-19, the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) on Thursday delimited more areas of the Capital City as micro-containment zones.

One place each in Nayapalli and Bhimpur areas and two places in Srikhetra Vihar area have been declared containment zones.

As per BMC order, Plot No.LIG.118 in Nayapalli Brit Colony under Ward No-38 and Plot No.252/2699 in Bhimpur area under Unit-6 in Ward No.46 have been marked as micro-containment zones.

Similarly, two flats, including Flat No.A/2-303 and B/1-204 in Srikhetra Residency in Aiginia area under Ward No-49 have also been added to the containment zone list.

The areas were declared Covid containment zones after the detection of multiple positive cases. With the fresh addition, the number of containment zones in Bhubaneswar rose to 14.

As per the safety protocols, public will not be allowed to move into the containment zones and the Inhabitants within the restricted areas have also been prohibited to venture out. 

All the inhabitants within the containment zone shall strictly remain in-home and all the shopping establishments of whatsoever nature shall be closed immediately, the BMC order stated.

All the government and private institutions located within the boundary of the containment zones will also remain closed. The BMC will supply essentials and ensure medical requirements for inhabitants in the containment zones, added the order.

On Wednesday, the BMC had declared ten places in the city as containment zones.

A residential quarters of Xavier Institute of Management (XIMB), HIG-56, Lane-6 in Sailashree Vihar (ward number-7), plot number- 4044/4 in Pandara (ward number-18), A-304-3rd floor in Indian Oil Housing Society (ward number-4), QR-3R4, Sainik School (ward number-12) were demarcated as containment zones yesterday.

Moreover, Plot No 1499/A at Acharya Vihar (near Sai Temple), Plot No 120-B at Satyanagar, Plot No 60 at Bapuji Nagar, Plot No 1147 at Bishnu Nagar, Tankapani Road, and Plot No L3/65 near Water Tank at Acharya Vihar have also been declared as Covid containment zones.

Today, Odisha logged 1,897 new Covid-19 cases. Khordha district, which includes Bhubaneswar, alone added 669 infections in the last 24 hours, according to the Information and Public Relations (I&PR) department.

Other Stories