• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Pradeep Singh

Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: Amid the COVID-19 Lockdown 4, Indian Railways on Tuesday announced that the largest public sector transported will run 200 non-AC trains from June 1.

Informing the same, Union Railway Minister Piyush Goyal said the railway will run 200 Non-AC trains from June 1, and the online booking for the same will begin soon.

In a tweet the Minister said that apart from these Shramik Special trains, railways will run the 200 additional time table trains daily from June 1 - all will be non-air conditioned second class trains.

Regarding booking of tickets, he said that the bookings of these trains will be available online and all information related to the trains and others will be made available soon.

As per reports, Indian Railways has ferried more than 21.5 lakh migrants to their home states through “Shramik Special” trains in 19 days and will operate more than 1600 Special trains in the coming days. Such a decision has been taken by the Railways to bring more relief to migrants. Around 200 trains are scheduled to run by tonight.

Apart from that, Indian Railways will introduce 200 Time Tabled Daily New trains from June 1, 2020.

The booking will done ONLY online and shall commence in few days. The trains will be non AC. Railways will announce the schedule and trains soon. Meanwhilem the Railways has announced that no tickets will be sold at any railway station and prospective travellers should not come to the railway station to buy tickets.

Move is a major relief to migrants all across the country.

Indian Railways has appealed to the migrants not to panic in this situation. Efforts are being made to ensure that all of them are able to travel to their home states at the earliest, informed Railways.

Efforts will be made such that they will be able to board trains from Railway Station Head on main line which is close to their existing location.

Railways has asked the State Governments to identify and locate these migrants who are walking on roads to go to their home states and transport them to the nearest main line railway station after doing their registration at the nearest district headquarters and give a list of these travellers to the Railway Authorities so that arrangements can be made for their further travel through Shramik specials.

The decision of the Railway Ministry has come days after the Centre extended the nationwide lockdown till May 31, while lifting restrictions on the movement of bus service and other public transport.

The railway is currently operating all air-conditioned services on 15 Rajdhani Express routes. The special passenger trains are connecting New Delhi with 15 other cities of the country.

The 15 special trains from New Delhi are connecting Ahmedabad (Gujarat), Jammu Tawi, Howrah (West Bengal), Dibrugarh (Assam), Agartala (Tripura), Patna (Bihar), Bilaspur (Chattisgarh), Ranchi (Jharkhand), Bhubaneswar (Odisha), Secunderabad, Bengaluru (Karnataka), Chennai (Tamil Nadu), Thiruvananthapuram( Kerala), Mumbai Central (Maharashtra) and Madgaon (Goa).


Also Read: Centre asks states to operate more Shramik Special trains, issues SOP for travel

You May Like: Railways SOP For Shramik Special Trains Asking States To Collect Fare For Services Draws Flak

Other Stories