Vijay Hazare Trophy: Odisha beats Haryana in its last game

Bhubaneswar/Bengaluru: Deepak Behera’s six-wicket haul ensured a comprehensive win for Odisha over Haryana in the last Group A game of the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day cricket tournament in Bengaluru. Despite securing four points from the win, Odisha failed to garner enough points to proceed further in the tournament.

Odisha chased down the minuscule target of 171 in 31.4 overs by losing just one wicket.

Deepak Behera wrecked havoc from the very beginning of the match by reducing Haryana to 23/6 after picking up the first five wickets.

Debutant Sanjay Dhull and IPL player Harshal Patel stitched together a 102-run stand for the eighth wicket to rescues Haryana from troubled waters. Harshal Patel got out for 50 while Dhull went on to score 72 before getting out to Deepak Behera. Haryana was all out for 170 in 45.4 overs.

Apart from Deepak’s six wicket haul, Jayanta Behera took two wickets while Debabrata Pradhan and Prayas Singh Thakur claimed one apiece.

Odisha started off the chase on a very positive note with openers Rajesh Dhuper and Anurag Sarangi adding 46 in nine overs. Dhuper got out for 28 while Anurag and Shantanu Mishra cruised along to achieve the target in 31.4 overs. Both Anurag and Shantanu remained unbeaten on 84 and 53, respectively. Anurag’s 89-ball knock included seven fours and five hits over the rope. Shantanu Mishra also struck seven boundaries.

Odisha won three out of its six group games in this edition of Vijay Hazare Trophy and has secured a total of 12 points.