Odishatv Bureau

World's two of the greatest contemporary footballers Christiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will meet in a mouthwatering clash in this season's Champions League after Barcelona and Juventus were placed in a group of death.

The group stage draw for 66th season of Europe's premier club football competition was completed amid Covid-19 pandemic in Geneva on Thursday.

The two heavyweights face off each other in Europe's elite competition next month along with Dynamo Kiev of Ukraine and Hungarian giants Ferencvaros.

Beaten 2020 finalists Paris Saint-Germain will take on Manchester United and RB Leipzig in Group H. English Premier League champions and 2018 UCL winners Liverpool will face Ajax as well as Atalanta and Midtjylland of Denmark in Group D.

Reigning champions Bayern will take on Atletico Madrid. Among other notable match-ups, 13-time European champions Real Madrid meet Inter Milan in Group B while

The group stage commences from October 20, and all six rounds of games will take place within eight weeks in a crammed schedule that is even more packed than usual because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Lewandowski named European Footballer of the Year 2020

Meanwhile, Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski was named 2019/20 UEFA Men's Player of the Year award.

"It's an amazing feeling. I would like to thank the teammates and coaches I work with every day. Obviously I'd like to thank my family as well," said Lewandowski as per the Bayern's official website on Thursday.

"As a little boy I dreamed of playing in the big stadiums. Standing here now means a lot to me," continued the 32-year-old.

He scored 55 goals in 47 games on the way to the 2020 treble - he only missed five games - and was the top scorer in the Bundesliga (34 goals), Champions League (15) and the DFB Cup (6).

His teammate Manuel Neuer was adjudged goalkeeper of the year in Europe while Joshua Kimmich was chosen as best defender. Manchester City's De Bruyne won the prize for the best midfielder.

Bayern coach Hans-Dieter Flick received the UEFA Men's Coach of the Year 2019/20 award.

The jury was composed of the 80 coaches of the clubs which participated in the group stages of the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, together with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group from each of UEFA's member associations.

In women's category, Pernille Harder, finalist with Wolfsburg, now with Chelsea, won the 2019/20 UEFA Women's Player of the Year, her second time taking the accolade after her success in 2018.

Read More:

FIFA Approves $1.5 bn COVID19 Relief Fund For World Football

Messi Announces To Leave Barcelona